Facebook page delete: How to delete Facebook page on desktop and mobile phone | 91mobiles.com


You may want to delete a Facebook page if it has served its purpose or is no longer in use. That said, removing a page from Facebook is not as easy as creating one. The option is buried deep inside the Facebook page settings and not everyone can access it. Below is an easy step-by-step guide on how to delete a Facebook page on a desktop and mobile phone. But first, let’s understand what a Facebook page is and how it’s different from a profile page:

What is a Facebook page?

A Facebook page should not be confused with a Facebook profile. They both are separate things, and if you’ve mistaken one for another, here’s what you need to know:

While a Facebook profile is a personal profile of an individual who uploads events about their life or whatever they’ve been up to, the same cannot be said for a Facebook page.
A Facebook page is usually created with the goal of increasing the online presence of brands or businesses. There are also Facebook pages of groups or communities that share common ideologies, recreational activities, content creators, etc.

If you are looking for how to delete Facebook profile, click here. Otherwise, read on to find out how to delete a Facebook page.

Who can delete a Facebook page?

Before we get to the steps on how to delete a Facebook page, you should know that not anyone can follow them. You need to be the page’s administrator to delete it altogether. If you are not an administrator of a Facebook page but feel like the Facebook page is spreading hate and misinformation, you can report the page, and the Facebook moderators will have a look at it. 

How to delete a Facebook page on a PC/ laptop

If you are an administrator and want to delete a Facebook page, follow this step-by-step guide to delete it through your PC. 

  • Open www.facebook.com on the browser of your choice. 
  • Login to your account.
  • From your feed, navigate to the left menu and click on Pages
  • Select the page you want to delete from Your Pages.

  • Now open Page Settings located at the bottom left. 

  • Select General and scroll down and click Remove Page.
  • Click Permanently Delete (Name of your page) and confirm your selection in the pop-up window. 

  • Another pop-up that reads “entered deletion mode” will show up and once it does, click OK

How to delete a Facebook page on a mobile phone

Again, only an administrator can delete a Facebook page. Here’s how to do it on your mobile phone

How to delete Facebook page on mobile phone

  • Open the Facebook app. 
  • Tap the Hamburger menu (☰) at the top right corner of the display. 
  • Navigate to Pages. 
  • Under Pages you manage, select the page you want to delete. 
  • Tap the Settings icon at the top right corner of the screen. 
  • Select General.
  • Tap Permanently delete (name of your page) under Remove Page
  • Confirm your selection by tapping the Delete Page? Option. And, done. 

FAQs

How to cancel delete request of Facebook page

Please note that when you put in a request to delete a Facebook page, it does not get deleted instantly. Rather, Facebook will unpublish the page for 14 days, after which the page will be permanently deleted. If you’ve changed your mind about deleting your Facebook page, here’s what you need to do to cancel the deletion request

  • Log in to the Facebook page you scheduled to delete. (Do it within 14 days!!)
  • At the bottom left corner, click Page settings.
  • Now, click Cancel Deletion located on top. 
  • Click Confirm.
  • Click OK.

Your page has now been published and won’t be deleted.

How to hide a Facebook page from others without deleting it.

You should try these two alternatives if you haven’t made up your mind about deleting your Facebook page. The first is to Unpublish your Facebook page which will hide it from the public, but if you change your mind, you can Publish it back again. The second option is to Merge one Facebook page with another. By merging your Facebook pages, you transfer all likes from one page to another. 

Here’s how to Unpublish your Facebook page

  • Login to your Facebook page. 
  • Click Pages located on the left side of your home screen. 
  • Select the page you want to unpublish.
  • Now, click Page Settings
  • Select General
  • Under Page Visibility, select Page Unpublished
  • Click Save Changes.
  • If asked, enter the reason why you want to unpublish your page. 
  • Click Next and click Unpublish.

Your page has now been unpublished. However, if you want to publish your page again, follow the same steps; just after the 5th step, select the Page Published option. 

Here’s how to Merge Facebook pages,

  • Login to your Facebook page. 
  • Click Pages located on the left side of your home screen. 
  • Select the page you want to unpublish.
  • Now, click Page Settings
  • Select General
  • Navigate to Merge Pages at the bottom of the screen.
  • Enter your password and select the two pages you want to merge. 

Please note that you can only merge two pages if 

  • You’re an Admin for both pages.
  • Only pages that have a similar topic can be merged. 
  • Similar names are another requirement. 
  • Physical Location, if similar, is another plus point.  



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.